Movie Review: 2016: Obama’s America by Dinesh D’Souza

This movie is just terrible.

There is hardly any discussion of Obama’s policies, and the consequences of those policies.  The movie consists almost entirely of ad-hominem attacks and wild speculation about Obama’s psyche.

I’ve never read Obama’s book “Dreams of My Father”.  I didn’t care about Obama’s father.  In this movie, Dinesh D’Souza really focuses on that book, and on the nature of Barrack Obama Sr, who was pretty much a scuzzbag.  Obama’s other book “The Audacity of Hope”, which I did read, is never mentioned in the movie.

At one point, the movie questions Obama’s policy toward Israel.  Obama has been licking the ass of the Jewish Lobby with the best of them.  At one point, he expressed the opinion that the building of Jewish civilian settlements in the West Bank “must end”.  That has actually been the policy of all American presidents, Democrat and Republican, since the building of those settlements began.  Obama has just said so a little more forcefully.  And why not?  Those settlements are the biggest obstacle to peace in Palestine.
And D’Souza describes Israel as “America’s closest ally”.  “Ally” really isn’t the right word.  Alliances are mutually beneficial.  Our relationship with Israel consists of the US constantly bending over backward on Israel’s behalf, and Israel almost never being in a position to do anything beneficial for the US.  The relationship is not symbiotic, it is parasitic.  Israel is not a useful ally, therefore it is not an important ally.
And why does Dinesh D’Souza, born in India, give a rat’s ass about Israel?  I doubt he really does, but the goal of the movie is to cost Obama as many votes as possible, and he can’t pass up the opportunity to make that dig.

There is a lot of talk about Obama’s associations with unsavory leftists.  I think any intellectual is going to have a repertoire of associations from across the political spectrum.  I was a Libertarian in college, but I remember shaking hands with the president of the Revolutionary Communist Youth Brigade, who advocated the violent overthrow of the US government.  I also remember getting to know a neo-Nazi very well.

I knew I would disagree with this movie before I saw it, but it is very important to me to expose myself to input from across the political spectrum.  But this movie is a waste of time.  It is almost completely lacking in policy content, consisting of ridiculous, wild speculation and ad-hominem attacks.

Leave a Comment